My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Up to all good! March 21, 2014

.

.

Has it really been so long?

.

.

It’s been a whirlwind of activity around here.

.

.

From signing up to volunteer at church and at the local pregnancy center to woodworking and making felted baby rattles.  Throw in a sick dog, boys activities – including the big one and I’ve hardly had time to sit still.

.

.

The whole time I could hear a good friend in my ear asking if I’ve started my sewing room yet?  I’m workin’ on it, I’m workin’ on it!

.

.

IMG_3569

.

I’m so glad for her voice!

.

This is what I have so far.  One wall partially completed with 3 more walls to go.  And yes, the chair looks really low.  I made the desks standing height so I’m not sitting as much.  I’ll be purchasing a “standing chair” in the near future.  I’ll also be organizing VERY soon.

Just for future reference if you’re thinking of doing something similar….. measure the length of your pedal cord.  They’re about 2 inches too short and I’ll have to make a small “stool” for them.

.

Paint color suggestions?

.

In between sawing, I have been sewing.  I’ve made two shirts and a pair of pants.  My favorite being this completely simplistic, but totally awesome, sparkly shirt.  I’m in love with it!

.

.

IMG_3556

.

*sparkle, sparkle, sparkle*

.

I managed to get only one of our new light fixtures up outside.  Mostly because…. it’s good to know how many light fixtures you actually have on the outside of your house!  We found an excellent deal at Costco and bought three, only to realize we have seven lights!  I ordered the remaining lights elsewhere, at far less of a deal.  Now if the high winds could just die down I could actually put the rest up?  In the mean time – I’m enjoying the new view!

.

.

IMG_3568

.

.

And lastly, a Pinterest find.  Felted baby rattles.  Something good to do while you’re watching your favorite show.  I love the results – I’ll definitely be making more for future cutie-patooties!

.

.

IMG_3570

.

*rattle – rattle*

.

So I now have a clean garage.  A second-born signed up for classes next year at a tech school.  3 boys in 4-H.  A first-born with a job at the naval base and a dentist man who is happy that it’s been very quiet.

.

.

IMG_3550

 

2 Responses to “Up to all good!”

  1. sewfordough Says:

    I love your sewing room so far! Look at all the storage and that’s just one wall….brilliant! What paint color makes you smile? Go with that one.
    I love that sparkly top too….it’s awesome! Can you share the pattern number, or did you design it? Those rattles look like something the dogs would have a blast with! What did you use to make the rattle sound inside and how did you make them (you might have to write a post on how you made them ;) And what a cute picture of your dogs…awwww! Thanks, friend, for the fun post. I’m so glad for your voice too!

    • blankenmom Says:

      Thank you!! Yes – tons of storage! Plus I plan on having the peg boards up the walls again. As for colors that make me happy? The ones that make most peoples eyes hurt…. so I may have to think on this for a while. ;) I could give the pattern number, but it’s no longer available. :\ I may just write a post on the rattles – and the links to all the sites I took tidbits from. They were *super* easy! And thank you again – that was Lady helping Dean to feel better. She’s a good mama!


Any thoughts?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers