My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Liar, liar – my heads on fire! April 9, 2014

Filed under: Broken/Repaired,Family,WTFr — blankenmom @ 10:00 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

!

 

 

 

I’m not sure if the above statement is *really* true.  It’s more like…. I’d rather set it on fire, run through a gasoline factory naked, while in labor.  It would be easier, and maybe then the state would pay attention?

 

 

I know I’ve talked about “that house” before.  The house I would love to fall to the ground (while it’s empty of course).  I would add by meteorite, but then insurance wouldn’t cover it.

We had an aircraft carrier, two coastlines and several people in between hoping it would go down in Sandy, yet no.  The stupid thing lives.

 

After a year of no rental income, we were finally able to get renters back in – if you want to call them that.  FEMA in all their wisdom, placed people supposedly displaced by the flood into homes that were newly finished due to the flood.  We thought we were helping someone out.  Shame on me for trying to help – that’s the last time that will happen!

 

Since July, they have violated every line on the rental contract.  EVERY LINE!

Plus a few extra’s.

 

It’s lovely.

 

We took the long, drawn-out and costly steps to eviction after the final straw of leaving a cat to die under the house.  Last week  we were told by the judge that all the violations, on the contract they willingly signed, don’t matter because they have three kids.  It doesn’t matter that they, among all the other violations, don’t have insurance (in a flood area) to cover in their words, a dog that may bite that isn’t on the contract.  It doesn’t matter that they disturb the woman behind them with two kids of her own.  It doesn’t matter if the house falls down around them because we can’t finish our work from the flood because they won’t let workers finish.  Nope – they have three kids.

 

Never mind our four kids.  After all, we work.  We pay our utilities, loans, mortgages and taxes.  My husband works two jobs to make sure we can cover their needs, on top of ours.  A judge decided that their kids took precedence over our kids and the neighbors… and yours, because they’re on state aid.  Because they’re unwilling to work a real job and pay their own way, we have to cover for them.  We’re not talking, they’re trying to work and are having a hard time – nope.  I’d love to help with that!  Find me that family!!

 

Does that mean we get out of the contract?  No actually, it means they may get to stay in for six months longer than the contract because they told the judge they can’t find a place to live in the three months remaining.  REALLY?

 

Nope.  When you live on state aid, only you matter.  Not the tax payer providing your rent, the person who owns the house or anyone around you.  State and judge condoned…. and apparently encouraged.

 

Never mind the fire – my head just exploded…..

.

head

 

 

 

Lest you think I’m a cold-hearted person who would throw children out on their ear…. it’s the kids that made me wait so long.  It’s the kids that kept me from shutting off their utilities when they didn’t pay them.  It’s the kids that kept me from kicking their backsides to the curb when they (unbeknownst to me) lied about how much the state would give them for rent and accepted less!

 

2 Responses to “Liar, liar – my heads on fire!”

  1. sewfordough Says:

    It’s just unbelievable. And I’m sure appealing would just be more money, time and more of the same head-exploding answers. What happened to justice?

    I’m sooo sorry, but that doesn’t help, I know. I wish I had the words to take it all away for you. Meanwhile, I pray, because I know that only God has an answer to this.

    Sending you hugs in a big way today.

    Linda

    • blankenmom Says:

      The small comfort to me in this is that the Lord is allowing it for a reason.

      We can’t appeal, but if the *state funded* dog genetic test comes back as on the insurance no-no list we can retry eviction since our insurance is now in jeopardy over the dog – and a piece of sidewalk they haven’t allowed a worker to fix. However, we have three months left with their contract. We’re getting a management company when this contract is over, so we don’t have to try and manage the property from so far away and I’m pretty sure they’re not going to want to stay when they have to get monthly in home inspections – even if the state says they can! However, at this point, who knows what’s going to happen? For all we know the judge will say we have to hand the house over and continue making the payments for them!

      Thank you for the prayers and virtual hugs – I was pretty upset the day we were told, but I’m calming back down… somewhat. ;) What doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger, right?!


Any thoughts?

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers