My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Bizarre happenings October 28, 2010

Filed under: Hubby,Knitting,Sewing,WTFr — blankenmom @ 10:53 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s still very hot and muggy and if your tired of listening to me complain about it, tough.  I’m tired of waking up to it!  It’s October, I’m supposed to be in sweaters and jeans, warm and fuzzy from the lack of shaving my legs and eating hearty stews and soups, feeling all snuggly and warm with my family near by.  On top of that my hands have finally succumbed to the weather; I can’t knit, can’t hold the needle to sew the buttonholes and can barely even type.  The old lady dog is feeling it too, lumbering around all stiff and painful.  The locals think it’s pretty funny, mmm, not feeling it.

He kind of looks like he has a hang over doesn't he?

We had another visitor in the boys’ Bionicle bucket today.  It’s a pretty one too!  The boys wanted to play with their Bionicles, so they carefully pulled it out and set it on the table where it stayed until this evening, where it promptly returned to the bucket. 

The comedy of life sometimes is just to good.  On the bridge to the vet’s office the traffic was backed up pretty far once I got to the “scene” of the cause I really had to laugh out loud!  I kid-you-not a woman jogging was the cause of a 1/4 mile back up!  Really, are you kidding me!  Fully covered on the major area’s and wasn’t even that well endowed?  It was just one of those bizarre things, but it gave me a good laugh.

I took the cat in for her blood work today.  As I’m sitting there rolling the words “renal failure” around in my head and feeling like I might be on the verge of tears, I see a woman walk in with her spastic wiener dog needing a nail trim (the dog, not the woman).  She sits for a few minutes, talking to this squirmy little boy like it was her first child, making me giggle.  The tech comes to get the dog and has to *drag* it into the back.  Which again, makes me giggle.  (It was on a harness, no one panic, no animals were harmed in the making of this story)  The woman starts pacing around the room, touching everything, finally getting a bag of food and some treats.  She stands at the door, where her furbaby went in and I swear starts kind of whimpering and whining, sort of like her dog.  She turns and asks the receptionist if her dog is ok, if getting the nails clipped hurts?  The receptionist explains that it doesn’t.  She looks at me and I tell her our dogs have the same issue, for different reasons.  She gives out a quiet huff and mumbles “what ever” on the verge of tears.  At this point I wanted to start laughing out loud, and my cats possible renal failure all of a sudden became a smaller issue to me.  I DO NOT want to be one of THOSE people.  You bet I’m going to be sad when the ladies pass, but I would like to also have a few small pieces of reality to hold on to, such as – it is still an animal, not my child!  That being said, we get into the car and the cat looks at me as if to say “I hate you, and I know where you live!” 

The boys are spastic, and driving me up the wall.  Most likely because of the heat and we just haven’t found our groove yet.  We’ll probably find it about June, when we move.  I’m driving the poor hubby insane!  He’s attempting to find me “play dates”.  “But what if I don’t like them?  Can I come home and I can talk about how much I don’t like them?”  His reply “Sure, a change of conversation would be nice!”  Hahaha  A sign of a good hubby.  The greater job at Walmart is looking REAL nice.

It was fend for yourself night tonight, which is good since my hands hurt and that ment I got to finish my mashed potato’s.  The boys always like that too, so they all get what ever they want, as long as it’s a real meal.  Watermelon and cheese counts as a real meal?  Wasn’t that a Seseme Street song? *giggle*

I am also glad I finished my hat-turned-scarf yesterday, since there will be no knitting tonight.  Hopefully I’ll be back to normal tomorrow so I can finish the jacket in time for my sewing machine to arrive.  I’ve also got another order for some necklaces I make for someone.  It’s a hit or miss thing for me since it’s not really what I do, but it makes me money, it’s legal and I can do it from home, I’ll give it a whirl!  It leaves me with supplies for sewing too, so it works out well for me.

Last night I had caffeine and was up until 3:30.  And then today I had half of the first-born’s cinnamon buns that he made and was pinging off the walls at the vets office.  About an hour after I got home all I wanted to do was sleep and now am wide awake and can’t do anything.  *Sheesh*  This might be a long night!  I suppose this would be a good opportunity to get some Christmas presents ordered.  This is when I’d just sit and people watch at the last place… drunks are so entertaining!  I suppose I could go out and look at the stars and watch the owls and bats.  That’s more my style.  Ooh – I need those light up needles so I can knit in the dark!  Of course, that would probably attract the bats and I’d end up being attacked by the wildlife.  Hmmm,  maybe I don’t need them?

I’ll leave you with this – for those of you who sew, or are a sewing enabler, you’ll probably relate to one or more of these:

http://mrbilll.users.sonic.net/Costuming/Humor/2am.html

 

2 Responses to “Bizarre happenings”

  1. Karen Says:

    #s 7 & 8 on that list made me LOL and I had people look at me. Thank you. 🙂

    • blankenmom Says:

      7 was my favorite too! If my sewing room hadn’t of been in the front room w/all the windows… totally would have been an option! Hmmm – I sew in the living room now? 😀
      Glad I could make you laugh after your day yesterday!


Any thoughts?

