My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Trick-or-friggin-treat! November 1, 2010

Filed under: Boys,Family,Knitting,Military,Moving,Places — blankenmom @ 12:51 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Happy Trick-or-Treating!

Still not feeling 100%, for that matter, not even 50%.  I’m tired, grouchy and feel like I could sleep for a week.  Actually, I think I have?  I slept for 12 hours today and tried for more, but it just wasn’t happening.

I hope everyone had a good Trick-or-treat, either out-and-about, partying or handing out candy.  I myself, got to walk the boys around base and then hand out candy to a few kids.  After getting very lost on base, we decided to just park and start walking.  I think we were in officer’s housing, but who knows.  We ended up only walking about two neighborhoods and then most people were out of candy.  *sigh*  I felt like the lone single mom, that everyone talks about.  Everyone taking a second to see if they know me, but nope, a “Oh ah, nice to meet you ma’am”, while everyone else was saying “Hey, how the heck are ya” and “How’s (insert childs or spouses name here)”, we kind of stuck out….   On the way home Garmin decided not to work, so we had to find our own way home in the dark.  Always interesting when you are in a new place!  By the time I got home, most of the houses in the neighborhood were done, but that didn’t stop the boys from trying.  I love that they still went out!  I hope next year goes smoother.

Let the candy trading begin!

The odd thing about moving all across the country is everyone has their own tradition.  Each state does their own thing, and each one thinks that everyone does it the same way.  Just like most things, you ask them how to do it and they look at you like you have a third eye.  “Of course you do it this way.  Everyone does it THIS way.”  *uhg*  “No, not EVERYONE does!”  That is one, very nice thing about base.  Everyone is from everywhere, so all the traditions get mashed.

The boys are all happy with their half filled bags of candy though.  I suppose that is a perk to never letting them have candy.  Poor second-born can’t have the traditional candy so we have to buy all special stuff for him.  Granted, this year we found some Pixie-stix, wax lips, Fun Dips (minus the stix) and Smarties.  We also got him some Ginger-chews, and some natural suckers.  Usually we have a Whole Foods near by to get him his candy, but stuck here in La-La land, we have only a dinky little place that has hardly anything.  Granted, they’re trying, but still, it sucks for him and I know it.  He’s really good about it though, if he get’s three different kinds of candy he’s absolutely ecstatic!

DS #2's stash

We however, got kicken’ candy.  Worms (that look really, real!), ear wax, wax teeth and Minty maggots.  We got some fun toys too, but the gross candy is always my favorite.  MY treat for the evening is a glass or two of wine. 

I did get to work on my frogging a little.  I know, I know, it’s taking me forever.  But give me a break here, I don’t feel good!  Tomorrow I’ll work on wrapping into skeins while the boys are working on their sugar-highs.

Tomorrow is picture day and a trip to the “big city”.  I’ll try to remember my camera for the adventure, we even get to go to the mall!

 

2 Responses to “Trick-or-friggin-treat!”

  1. Karen Says:

    Were they out of candy because everyone t-o-t’d early? We went thru almost 4 bags of candy, and one bag was the huge one from Costco.

    • blankenmom Says:

      By the time we got parked it was almost 8, which is usually about the time people start to stop, It looked like there were alot of kiddo’s out though when we were driving around. If we had gotten there earlier there prolly would have been more. So we t.o.ted for about 20-30 minutes and then came home. I still have a whole bowl left though. That and the fact that I felt like crap, just didn’t make for a stellar night, but the boys were really good about it.


Any thoughts?

