My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Friday night fun! November 5, 2010

As a parent, you learn new kinds of excitement and entertainment that you never new before.  Your Friday nights become über exciting almost to the point of too much to stand.  For instance, tonight I am steamed my kitchen floor, which took several passes since it hadn’t been done for a while, can we just say *EW*!  I also scrubbed the stainless steel – I know, at this point your saying “Stop, I just can’t stand it.  It’s just to exciting!”  I know, I know.  I’m just a thrill a minute kind of gal.  But to top it all off, I did some laundry.  Woohoo!  Not as exciting as grocery shopping at Wallyworld, but I get my excitement where I can.

On the subject of stainless steel, I have decided that whomever the inventor was needs to be shot!  That stuff is horrible and doesn’t belong anywhere near a family.  Even after scrubbing for an hour, it still doesn’t look clean, it’s starting to rust (which, I didn’t even know it could do) and the boys are already making it dirty again.  My steamer however is *fabulous*.  We’re even trying it out on the carpet to see if it perks it up a bit.  If you’ve wondered about getting one, I highly recommend it.

Other than that I didn’t get much done today.  I worked on the jacket a little more, put the yarn out to dry in a new spot so the hubby could take a shower.  I got info on the yarn that I mentioned yesterday.  It won’t be in, in time for me to get it done for Christmas, so back to the “drawing” board (or would that be blocking board? *snicker*)  I wish they wouldn’t advertise things they don’t have, it makes it very frustrating trying to buy from them.  Oh – I did talk with the realtor and we should have the renter in the house by Dec. 1. 

I did get to sleep in, well sort of.  I didn’t have to drive the hubby this morning since I had nowhere to go, so he woke me up to say it was time to go and I told him he could take the van.  “OK, love you, bye!”  I rolled over and couldn’t get back to sleep – bleck.  He got his car back today, but he has next week off so I guess it doesn’t really matter.   

I have one sleeve done on the jacket, which means only one more, of course and then I get to ship it off.  I am ordering some wire this weekend for some necklaces I’ll be working on for a customer/neighbor/friend up north.  It makes him a ton of cash and I get a little side money.  For an hour or so of work in my PJ’s, I can’t complain.

It’s cold today, well, colder.  It only got up to 60*, but that’s pretty cold here.  I really need to bring our box of pants in from the garage so I don’t have to keep getting dressed out there.  I suppose I could bring the sweaters in too, but we don’t want to get crazy or anything.

Tomorrow is the Farmer’s Market and the first-born will be joining us for the first time, so he can drive.  What ever get’s him out of the house.  He’s also making bean soup tomorrow.  It says it’s supposed to feed 14-16, but really it only feeds the blanken family of 6.

 

Any thoughts?

