My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Long day off November 27, 2010

Filed under: Boys,Family,Hubby,Knitting,Sewing,WTFr — blankenmom @ 1:52 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I haven’t had a real day off in quite a while.  Yeah, when we first got here I didn’t have anything to do, but that’s not really a day off.  That’s just sheer boredom, this was an actual day off, where I didn’t have to get up for anything and had nothing planned for my day – but still had options.  I thoroughly enjoyed it!

My stomach has been upset since yesterday, so I didn’t eat all day long like the family; I’m jealous.  But, I did spend it finishing up the second stocking, frogging the first and restarting it in the proper order (only from the heel).  They may be almost wearable now that their fixed!  I also got a burst of energy tonight and hauled in my cutting table (from outside… isn’t that where everyone keeps their cutting table?)  I got two patterns cut out and ironed and one piece of fabric ironed.  I was hoping to get at least one pattern transferred, but my stomach started up again before I could.  So a little more work on the stocking before bed I guess. 

This is the shirt pattern?

We’re going to the Farmers Market tomorrow as usual, although, we’re not sure if they will be there with this being a holiday weekend and all.  But, it’s an outing for the boys, so they still want to go.  I might have to fit in a few other errands to make it worth going out.  I’m a little afraid to go out to the stores this weekend though, so we’ll be avoiding them.

I plan on Christmas shopping next weekend.  That should give people some time to calm down.  Ordering and the stores; it’s easier to get it all done in one weekend than to extend it out for weeks at a time.  I hate shopping, so I want to hurry up and get it done. 

The boys have finished off the last of the leftovers in record time; I think next year I might buy two hams?  I may have to look into two turkeys for Christmas?  Feeds 14-16 my backside!

The second-born and I went out tonight to return our Redbox and on the way there had to swerve for big, giant snake!  Ok, so it wasn’t an Anaconda or anything, but it was the biggest snake I had ever seen in real life; big enough to swerve for!  I wish I had gotten a picture of it.  I think that was the peak of my excitement today?

The hubby and I took the girls for a walk today.  I think the neighborhood thought we were nuts, walking in the rain, but really, are we going to melt?  The old lady dog was less than thrilled with us, but the Oly monster was as happy as could be.  And as we walked passed the pond, there were more ducks than usual swimming around.  Including the baby duck that swims around the middle of the pond all by itself – so cute!

She's got two of her own beds, 4 boys beds and where does she choose to sleep? Under my cutting table!

Normally we pull the Christmas tree out on the first weekend of December, but this year we have something special planned.  But we have to wait for it to show up… I’ll have pics as soon as it does.

 

Any thoughts?

