My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

A new year January 1, 2011

Filed under: Family,Hubby,Military,Moving,Places,Sewing — blankenmom @ 2:24 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

I know, I know, everyone is talking about a new year.  What their resolution will be, what they hope for, whether their last year was good or they’re glad to leave it behind, I understand that.  It’s like a shower; you walk in with the old and walk out with the new, all fresh and clean.  It’s a matter of seconds, but it’s so symbolic of what could be, or not, depending on how you think.  I’m a “half-full, but it’s leaking” kind of gal usually, so I’m on the “what it could be, realistically” side (although the hubby would laugh and say “add the glitter and happy ending to it” for me).

My 2010 was a mixture of good and bad.  With our issue’s up north, it could go either way.  We had a lot of issues with the town and a neighbor, but we had so many wonderful friends to back us up.  I had a wonderful year with my business, but had to leave it behind.  “We” graduated from dental school, but with a lot of student loans.  We left up north, but we still have a house keeping us there; mind you, it keeps us connected to those same, wonderful people.  “We” graduated from officer training, but that just means we get to pay for everything.  We don’t have a renter or a buyer, but we have a “vacation home”.  We got to experience the south for nine months, which means we move twice in one year, but miss the extreme heat.  It’s all in how you look at things!

I don’t make resolutions, but am looking at this time to shed away the worry that I had for the last 4 or so years.  To trust more in what the Lord has to say, and not worry so much about my specific worry – money.  As I once heard, women worry more about money, because they make less and take care of the children more.  Therefore, they worry about their financial matters more, because they will be the ones taking care of the children, no matter what.  I don’t worry about the hubby leaving, but do worry about military factors, making money a huge factor in our future.  Trusting that all things will be taken care of, is something I’ll need to work on.  So it’s not so much a resolution, more a shedding of what I don’t want or need.

I don’t plan on sewing, reading or working out more.  I just plan on leaving the things I don’t need behind.  The ulcers, the stress, the worry about things I can’t fix.  Will it work, who knows?  But isn’t it worth a try?  I have a best friend who is excellent at it.  That is one of the things I truly love about her.  They could have no money, the house could be a mess, they may not know how they’re going to get groceries the next week, but they’re ok with that, and yet, they have food in their fridge, the house is sanitary, if not clean and she has enough to get gas in her car.  I need to pay more attention to her.

So, for this year, if your making a resolution – I hope you keep it.  If you don’t make one, I hope you enjoy your next year.  If you had a bad last year, I hope this one is better; and if this was a good year, I hope the next is better.

And just think – if 2011 is crappy… each year goes faster and faster, so it will be over with that much quicker.  😉

 

Any thoughts?

