My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Rain, rain, rain January 10, 2011

I’m from the NW; I have “webbed feet” as they say, and actually enjoy the rain…. usually.  Right now the entire country is in “the grips” of snow.  “That house” up north has 2′ of snow and expects more this week.  We however, have rain.  Granted, this morning it was freezing rain, making the trees beautiful.  Green, with a nice, icy white cover on their tips.  If I had only known by mid afternoon it would all soggy and no sparkle, I would have taken a picture.

Instead I have this:

*QUICK – ANYONE HAVE A BOAT?*

The ground outside is about an inch deep in water and the temperature is slowly rising, promising 40 some degree’s tomorrow.  I would prefer a nice 70* if it was going to be warm, but we don’t always get what we want.

While I’m trying to enjoy my blustery, cold, wet weather; finding projects to keep me warm and yet still within feet of my boys to attempt to stave away their incredibly short attention spans, every UFO I have sitting in a box comes to mind, but they are all out in the cold garage.  I have 5 pairs of pants pinned and ready to be hemmed sitting on my treadle “Brutus”.  My outfit, which is still in time-out, hanging from “Betty”.  The sweater for my dad is on the swift next to me, and bills that want to be paid.  None of these things seem appealing or cozy however. 

Stew?  Meatloaf?  They both take preparation, and both have to be in the oven for a while, making the house warm and good smelling.  And really…. since the “maid” didn’t do my laundry yesterday, I’m still in my p.j.’s and the hubby is starting to wonder if I own clothes, I should probably do SOMETHING to prove I moved today.  Well, after a few more rows at least.

I know I can’t be the ONLY one feeling like this today?!

 

Any thoughts?

