My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Haste makes waste – but also a good time! April 12, 2011

With the upcoming move, my thoughts have turned to cleaning.  We’ve done pretty good at keeping up with the drool on the wall’s from the Oly Monster (she’s pretty good, the highest we’ve measured was over 5′ up!) and repairs to the house, but the poor carpet… the poor beautiful, fuzzy, brand new looking carpet!

She almost looks concerned, doesn't she?

I woke up this morning to the soothing sound of a warm rain, I was also hit by a flood of a thousand and one things to do – the carpet being one of those, especially when I thought of the owner seeing the hallway carpet in such a manner!  *red face*

So I researched new carpet cleaners between house hunting, scheduling movers, calling on software issues (yes, we’re STILL dealing with the SAME software issue as before Christmas!!), faxing paperwork and helping with numerous math assignments – have I mentioned I HATE math?

Dinner was delegated to the second-born with much moaning and groaning, so I could head out on my mission….

There are no stores near our house, other that Wally world and of course the one I want, Consumer Reports best buy, was not available for in store purchase at our location, but it was at Target, 30-45 minutes away and as we all know in this day and age of high gas prices – that is REALLY far!  

So off we go, the third-born and I to get this carpet cleaner that I did so much research on.  Sure I could have ordered it on Amazon, but I want it NOW!  About 30 minutes later we arrive at the store, head in and locate the correct section and start hunting down the exact product…. hunting…. hunting….. hunting, “Excuse me, could this product maybe be in the back stock?  Or in another section on display?  I checked before we came out and it sayed it was here.”  The two very nice young ladies searched and searched but to no avail – it had either been sold or the website fibbed to me.  *insert grumbling here*

So – we each got a soda and small snack and left.  $10 in snacks and an hour + wasted for nothing – EXCEPT – I got to spend that time with the third-born, who rarely ventures out alone with me.  He usually prefers to stay at the house reading or playing with his brothers. 

Given the opportunity, I would have gone out with him anyway, just somewhere more fun and a lot closer.

BTW – I got home and odered it off Amazon.  *sigh*

 

Any thoughts?

