My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Happy Mother’s day and stuff May 9, 2011

I’m hoping everyone had a very nice Mother’s day – however you choose to celebrate.  Whether your into an extravagant day, being pampered and taken care of, or you’re more into no celebration at all.  I chose to go to the beach with the boys and then we had a nice casual dinner – very yummy!

The night before, we were invited (well actually ordered, it was mandatory fun) to a pig roast with all the hubby’s co-dentists, a good time as always.  Although I must admit, as much of a carnivore as I am, eating straight out of a pig was a bit much for me?  Didn’t stop me mind you, just slowed me down for a second or two!  (I was going to show you a picture, but it’s not very appetising.)

Last week was also very exciting, I got two new set’s (15 needles each, so 30 total) of circular needles.  Nothing fancy, VERY inexpensive, but they’ll do the trick nicely until I can afford nicer ones.  Besides, trying to knit 300 stitches on double-pointed needles was a bit more of a challenge than I was wanting!  Now I just need a new holder for them – hadn’t thought that far ahead?

I’m trying to knit a skirt, but I’m having to make my own pattern.  It’s 2 strand wool/silk on size 0’s, so it’s very tiny.  I so love working with this yarn though, it’s so soft and easy to work with!  This is as far as I’ve gotten though and it’s been about 2 weeks.  I’m thinking that now that I have the circular though, it should pick up.  I should also point out that I had to measure my backside for this and let’s just say I’ll be getting back on that treadmill very soon!  Eek!

Today was also very nice – I got two new items: A french fry cutter and a Carpet rake.  Do I see some confused faces out there? 

Yes, we really did need a french fry cutter!  The next time you go to the grocery store, try to find french fries without corn (syrup, starch or oil, or the dreadful “Corn/Vegetable Oil”  meaning they want you to guess what they used that day) or wheat.  Yes, it can be done.  My favorite store Costco sells them, but they are WAY far away.  And my second-born can’t eat anything with corn, wheat or dairy (as I’ve mentioned before).  So, we’re solving the problem by just making our own! 

Now, on to the carpet rake.  Yup, it’s just like what it sounds.  It’s to rake the carpet – and yes, I’ve completely lost my mind!  I WANT MY FLUFFY CARPET BACK!!  So tonight I’ll be “raking” my carpet and vacuuming to get that “just moved in” look.

(Also doubles as a dog scratcher)

Have I mentioned I miss my sewing machine?  One of the hubby’s co-dentists asked me to take a look at a dress of her’s to see if I can do anything to improve the look.  Which means my baby might get to come back out of his box!  YAY!

 

See – big week for me!

( Just as an update – My sister-in-law just called to let me know that the post office found the sweater I knitted for my dad – that I mailed 3 months ago.  She picked it up today.  Thank you LORD – prayers do get answered!)

 

Any thoughts?

