My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Hobbling around August 5, 2011

Filed under: Boys,Home improvement,Hubby,Sewing,WTFr — blankenmom @ 12:51 am
Tags: , , ,

It’s been two weeks (almost) since the hubby left.  I had high hopes for what I’d do while he was gone to keep myself busy.  Granted, it’s only been about two weeks, but it’s just not a good start when you hobble of the starting line!

Last Saturday I was moving my treadmill (that yes, I actually use) when I wrenched my leg again, this time so painfully I had to go into the emergency room.  The first-born was so worried, he wouldn’t let me drive myself.  It turns out I sprained my quad – thank goodness it was just a sprain, but OUCH!  That hurt so bad!  The hospital took good care of me and the other woman who had a bead stuck in her eye?  So needless to say, I haven’t gotten much done this last week.  I was able to get around without crutches, but the first few days were sort of useless. 

Now that I’m feeling better, I’m starting to get a few more things done, S-L-O-W-L-Y!  ‘Cause I ain’t doin’ that again!

I did manage to get the boards up tonight and am slowly getting things put up on them.  It will take a while for me to get things where I want them. 

I’m still waiting for our new bed to show up.  Apparently heat keeps the delivery trucks from moving, so my bed has been stuck in the mid-west for 2 days now.  Well, it’s been 5 years since I’ve had a real bed, I think I can wait a bit longer.  Besides, it’s only the frame, we’re still waiting for a good sale on mattresses.  So a frame and a blow-up bed until then; don’t mock – we’re “just out of dental school” (how much longer do I get to use that for?).   The bed we got this time is able to fit up those skinny, short east coast hallways, just in case.  That’s what happened to our first bed; wouldn’t fit!

With all the house stuff coming together – what does it all mean?  Sewing time!  My guess is by the end of the weekend I should be able to sew.  I may not have everything put away, but I’ll have enough room to sew! 

We’ll see how this weekend ends up and if I can behave long enough to heal properly.  No more hobbling around!

 

Any thoughts?

