My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Heathens and Helpers September 24, 2011

Have I EVER been a busy little lady!

Last week we had visitors of all sorts.  Grandparents, Great Aunts and Aunt’s, Uncle’s and the girl cousins.  Wow what a week! 

After all that, the fam decided it was a good time to get sick.  It had been several years, so we thought we’d pass around a few sniffles and yucks.  We’ve decided it’s no longer fun, so we’re done with that now and are moving on to a new adventure.

Last weekend we had another kind of visitor – someone broke into the van and made total mess of it and stole a DS Lite.  Leaving behind a quarter collection, 2 more DS Lites, change in the compartment and all our cd’s (what’s that say about our music choices?) – not that I’m complaining, I just think it’s odd that they’d leave all that after taking such care to go through everything?

 

 

No – this is NOT what my van normally looks like!

 

A few days later someone busted the mailbox post?

 

 

 

 

What the heck!

They’ve also been moving the pavers we just put out, randomly…   I decided enough was enough.  It was time to get the lights out front fixed and hopefully stop this!  Thanks to the handy homeowner girl I felt totally confident in my ability to do this.  The porch light was out AND the light out by the corner.  I managed the light by the door very well; it was no problem. 

 

 

The one out by the street was another question?  I got all the wires hooked up and nothing…. Well hmmm? 

Cue nice neighbors ~ The man next door to us, saw me outside working on the lights and asked what I was up to.  I explained about all the things that had been happening, since he’d been gone vacationing with his wife.  I showed him the mailbox post and the front porch light, but this light just wasn’t wanting to work.  He walked across the street to the cul-de-sac and talked with another neighbor.  They both walked back to the house and started working.  The first neighbor helped me get the old post out, put the new one in and put the mailbox back on and the second neighbor – who happens to be an electrician – helped me figure out what the issue was.  Turns out my wiring was perfect (well nearly) but there was a switch issue, which he showed me how to fix, so I could do the next one on my own.

How stinking AWESOME was that!!

I'll be painting the post black next week. For now I just wanted the light fixed.

I really do like to do things on my own, but I also know when to take outside help when needed and it was needed and much appreciated!  We’ll be bringing them cookies on Monday – Tomorrow is Granny’s birthday – we’ll be to busy. 

On top of all this awesomeness – my mattress FINALLY showed up!  Only 5 weeks after I ordered it.  I don’t think I’ll be ordering from Sears Outlet much anymore.  BUT the bed IS super comfy and so much better than a deflating air mattress!

It's been 5 years since I've slept in a real bed, in my own room. So nice!

 

I have been working on a few sewing and knitting projects, but there Christmas gifts – so no peeking!

 

2 Responses to “Heathens and Helpers”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Fabulous! Good for you for getting the lights in, and getting help is always good too 🙂 I’m sorry that things have been a little crazy lately – hopefully the lights will scare off anyone planning to bust your new mailbox or break into the car again! What a pain…

    • blankenmom Says:

      Thank you! It’s weird since we were the only ones. But the guy across the street has aimed his security camera our way just in case. And there was NO WAY I would have been able to find the problem w/o help. He used a “beepy thing” (technical term for it I’m sure! ;P) to track the wire to the right switch, which wasn’t a switch, but a timer? Otherwise, everything I did was right. But so far the lights HAVE been working. The lamp light is REALLY bright. I guess it’s the “new kid on the block” type thing. But thank you – and thanks for the motivation! Now I may tackle the light over the kitchen sink! 😀


Any thoughts?

