My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

La – la – la – la, I’m ignoring you! November 11, 2011

Filed under: Boys,Broken/Repaired,Family,Hubby,Knitting,Sewing — blankenmom @ 12:43 am
Tags: , , ,

Well not really – I swear… well, I don’t swear either, I keep a civil tongue.   But I promise, I’m not ignoring you!

I’ve been rather busy with projects for either me, Christmas or the boys.  But I guess that’s more of the usual?

I do have two projects in the works that are all hush-hush; those will be shown once I get them finished.  They’re pretty cool – so I want to build the suspense – HAHA!

 

As for what has been keeping me, let’s see here….

 

 

 

A little something for my MIL.  It’s actually one of my favorite sweater patterns because you can wear it all day long on a cold day and feel just perfect since it’s open in the front.  If you get cold, you just wrap it around you.  Granted – this is not a yarn I would have chosen, but then, the first sweater I made with this pattern was with my Red Heart and it’s one of my favorites (and the hubby’s least favorite….).  She picked out the yarn and said create, so create I did!

 

 

 

 

These are my new socks, taking a bath.  I made them from the left-overs from the hubby’s – so now we match.  Isn’t that just so darn, make ya’ want to gag, cute.  HA!

 

 

 

 

This would be the almost completed Christmas present for my MIL.  If you’ve been following along you may be thinking to yourself, “Didn’t she just finish one of these in that horrid color pink”?  And you’d be right!  I did, for Granny and as I predicted, my MIL loved it and is hinting.  But I only suffer through pink for Granny, so blue it is!  Not to mention the yarn was on an excellent sale – BONUS!  The boys picked out the bead color – so it’s a can’t lose on this one, the grandboys assisted!

 

 

 

 

This is the beginning of a new sweater for myself.  YAY!  I actually wanted it in brown, but without thinking last winter, I made the hubby’s sweater in the brown – la sigh, so I’m getting the grey.  But it’s the same sweater that I made the hubby last winter when we went to Disney World. 

Ok – now that’s two matching…. ew.

 

 

 

 

No – this isn’t a sewing project per se, but it is a monumental task!  I’ve been organizing my patterns a little better.  I still need two more crates to ease things up a bit in my collection.  They’ve been stuffed in there so tight, I wasn’t actually able to see my patterns.  So, that would make 16 crates (after the next two) and about 400 patterns?  I told the hubby – “Patterns are like crack to a sewer, you always need more!”  I don’t think he bought it?

 

 

 

 

And finally, a major project thanks to the first-born.  No, I’m not delving into the realm of car repair (yet).  But it took us several days to find a lock smith who could help us out with our “issue”.  The first-born lost his keys, the only keys and normally this would be a small, minor  problem.  However, his car is “special”.  As in, someone tried to play mechanic and botched the job.  They needed to replace the ignition and did so by welding AND hair banding it into place….. So, when we needed to replace the key, instead of them just reprogramming a key and cutting a new one, they had to replace the whole ignition, which took them HOURS to drill it out thanks to the welding… and hair bands.  So my son’s car was held together by HAIR BANDS!  Oy! 

 

So see, I haven’t been ignoring you – I’ve been stock piling!

 

Any thoughts?

