My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Boys vs. Girls *parent style* January 10, 2012

Filed under: Boys,Family — blankenmom @ 12:43 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

*I* am the mother of boys.  This is a fact.  I have been since birth.  Frogs, toads, lizards, snakes, small or large rodents – always my favorite. 

pink – definitely not.

Dirt, cow-pies, canals and pastures are where you could find me.  Happily.

clean – definitely not.

 

 

 

As I was watching folks at the soccer arena (where I spend all my free time now), I made an observation.  *Parents* of boys and girls are different, not just the kids themselves.  As most of us know after all, up to a certain age, they’re all the same anyway!  (The kids, not the parents)

As we’re rushing our way in 3 minutes late to my 3rd game of the weekend (3rd time late) and hoping my youngest has all his clothes on.  Our conversation in the car on the way over being, “Do you have BOTH socks on and 2 shin guards?  Do you have the CLEAN blue shirt on… did you put on underwear??”  Yes, I know, I could have just looked before we left, but remember we’re late.  I was busy getting his water, telling his brothers not to set the house on fire and being told by the oldest what time he’d be home, all while he was doing his best to tie his shoes at a snail’s pace.  (The 9-year-old, not the 16-year-old)

Luckily he wore both shoes… this time.

I was happy he made it out to the field complete.  Short, buzzed hair to aid in my sanity.  I don’t think he or his brothers even know how to brush/comb their hair?  (I did stop at velcro shoes!)  Color coded boxes, dishes, blankets, pillows and marks on their laptops, books or matching toys.  Matching, nondescript soccer items placed in a “communal bag” so there is no mad, crazy searching at the inevitable last-minute that we head out, just grab and go!  (Well, that’s at least the way it was supposed to work)

Why does all this matter?

As I look around at all the other families.  The 5 girls on his team (yes, he’s the only boy – my little stud!)  Hair tied up in cute little bow’s, flashy little soccer socks above their shiny pink/purple cleats.  Water bottles that match their mother’s or sister’s (one set of twins, another set of sisters).  Shirts with cute sayings, not a stain on them! 

They look like they spent all morning getting ready and were there in plenty of time for not just the game, but practice as well.  I’m sure *their* mothers even fed them before the game. 

What?  We’re supposed to feed them too?

If you were to watch a mother of all boys and a mother of all girls walk into a building, 9 times out of 10, you’d know which-is-which with out the kids in tow. 

I will say that the mom’s with a mixed gaggle are a bit tougher to pick out?  I hate to call them “normal”, I mean really – what IS normal?  But they’re the closest anyone can really get.

How do you pick out one of each?

The mother of boys looks like she’s just happy to have made it.  Hair is usually in a ponytail, pulled back, put up or short.  How do you plunge a toilet or remove shoe prints from the ceiling with your hair in your face?  Clothes may match, but that’s most likely because she’s dressing out of a basket – no time to actually put the clothes away, so they may be the clothes you saw her in last week at this time.  Don’t worry – they’re clean!  Tennies – always!  As the boys get older, the tennies get fancier!  Make-up… hahahaha!  Yeah right, the boys used that as war paint several years back. (No worries – there’s pic’s for future girlfriends!)  Coffee in hand – probably not her first one of the day.

Mothers of girls on the other hand, bless their hearts, show up like a fresh daisy!  (Have you ever smelled a daisy btw?)  They may be hurried, but they look great in their rush!   Perfectly quaffed hair done, and I mean done.  Blow dried, brushed, curled/straightened and sprayed… with something?  What is that?  Make-up, done just right (ok, sometimes there’s way to much, but really, they made the effort).  Their clothes match, not out of necessity, but because they actually shopped that way.    Even their shoes match!  They chose an outfit that morning and went with it – FANCY!  Her water bottle in hand – probably not her first one of the day. 

I can’t claim to know the intricacies of their lives, never been there.  But it seems very put together?

There *are* of course exceptions to these rules – there always has to be that ONE woman who throws everything off.  Boys with no stains and girls with hair that goes everywhere (I like that girl!).

 

As the boys get older some of these things get easier.  I even brush my hair everyday now.  But I’ll never be the mother of girls, we’ll see how I do with grand-girls?

I do admire these women, they have something I don’t and at times think I could, quite possibly enjoy – sanity.  But God in his great wisdom knew what would suite me best and sent pink bundles to women who know how to match.

Besides, who would I blame the frogs on…

 

11 Responses to “Boys vs. Girls *parent style*”

  1. Amen, sister! My two boys are the worst (best?) procrastinators in the world. Even though we have to do the very same thing every morning and every night (get ready for school and get ready for bed), they always look at me with their deer in the headlight when I ask them to follow the routine. It drives me nuts and I don’t think I’ll ever get used to it. I had no idea girls could be a little more cooperative but now, I’ll have to ask my friends!

    • blankenmom Says:

      I heartell from a few of my ladies that have daughters that they can much, MUCH worse – but they have to keep up appearances you know, so they’d never let you see that. 😉 Whereas, guys don’t really care. Haha!

      Routine? What’s that? 😛

  2. onceaponawife Says:

    Also as a mother of boys, three!! This is so true!!! And yes we are always late. Being on time is a made up fantasy in this house.

    • blankenmom Says:

      I used to always be on time, until they started getting themselves ready. That’s when everything went south… (I am experimenting right now with telling them appt. times 30 minutes early so we’re always 15 minutes ahead – like I used to be. I’ll let you know how it works.)

  3. Rebecca Trotter Says:

    My favorite was the time I was rushed getting my oldest son, then 6, to an end of year concert. It wasn’t until he was standing with his class in front of everyone that I realized he had put his shirt on backwards. And inside out. Did I mention that it was a polo shirt? One would think that wearing a polo backwards and inside out might feel strange enough that he would noticed and at least turned it around!
    I have two boys and then three girls and let me tell you – girls are sooooo much easier than boys. At least in our family. I remember the first time I told my oldest daughter to stop doing something (she was a young toddler) and she did, I was shocked; “you mean I’m not going to have to get up and force you to stop?” That had never, ever happened with my boys. I struggled for years and years to get my boys to develop some routines and good habits and I always felt like I was failing as a mother. Surely if I were more consistant, they would pick up on things. But with my girls, I have learned that it wasn’t really me. Early in the school year we had a couple of poorly executed mornings getting to the bus stop with the girls. So I suggested that we make a point of checking to see if we knew where coats and backpacks and shoes and folders were before going to bed. It took about 2 days for them to start remembering to do it independantly. Now, granted, my boys were unusually difficult and I’m sure my girls will be nightmares when they are all teens together. But still, I often whisper to my girls, “girls are better than boys, you know.”

    • blankenmom Says:

      I have to admit, my boys are pretty good about doing what I ask the first time, but then again I’m skilled in “man speak”. One direction at a time and make sure there is eye contact or they’re only saying “yes” they’re not not actually thinking “yes”. Girls you can give 20 directions at a time and they can (usually) get all of them done without a repeat. (Generalities here folks) The boys are getting better at adding to their list, it comes with age. I don’t mind, it helps me add to the list without them knowing! And there’s no squealing involved (which I *really* can’t take, our youngest tried it for about 10 seconds and got “that look” and it ended). Mom’s of girls truly have a gift for being able to block out that sound, where as mom’s of boys were ment for constant activity. Mom’s of both I guess are just gifted all around. 😉

  4. […] but gosh darnit – I think it’s kinda cute and really funny. Hey, I can relate So, this post on myblankenworld is my Friday […]

  5. yes – I love it! It’s my Friday Favorite 🙂

  6. I L.O.V.E. this – I haven’t made it as far as you have since my boys are still young – but I see the mayhem coming. This is a great post!


Any thoughts?

