My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

While they’re away January 11, 2012

Filed under: Family,Home improvement,Hubby,Military — blankenmom @ 2:12 am
Tags: , , ,

…. the family will play. 

Or at least do all the things dad told them not to do.

I am notorious for well-behaved, misbehavior.  I mean, is T.P.ing *really* that bad?  When I’m told NOT to do something there is a trigger deep down in my body that immediately wants to do that very thing… no matter what it is!  I usually let it go seconds after it enters my brain, but a few of the idea’s linger, even fester and on occasion, turn into actual projects!  This is a good thing when it’s a new outfit, sweater, teaching tool for the boys or deep down cleaning.  Sometimes it’s even a good thought when it comes to new recipes (not often, but sometimes).

My well-meaning dentist man attempts to keep these thoughts under control for both our sakes.  He really does know me too well – he’s see’s that glint in my eye!  I mean, what could POSSIBLY go wrong while building a giant cabinet… alone…. pregnant….. with 3 other kids?  Pshaw – silly man!   But alas, sometimes the thoughts get finished before he has time to object, whether by plan or by happenstance.  (read: I work quickly when motivated)

So, while my dentist man is off rescuing hostages from pirates, one tooth at a time, my thoughts turn to what trouble…. I mean projects, I can get into.

Hmmm – I wonder what other wives do?

If you’ve ever thought “I couldn’t imagine being without my spouse for that long”, just remember these few things that help manage the time for some of us, that are not kosher when the spouse is home:

~ I get the whole bed!  (I still sleep tucked only on my side?)

~ I get to dress out of baskets the whole time he’s gone (which is why all my clothes are wrinkled and I look like I just woke up…. ok, I probably DID just wake up.)

~ I only do 3 loads of laundry a week (for me) and that’s only because I sort.  Down from laundry everyday.  (I get to add girly fabric softener too – *ahem* not that I would ever do such a thing!)

~ Top Ramen, PB&J, cheese and crackers and on occasion ice cream, become acceptable dinners.  (Especially after you burn dinner… again.)

~ Stay up WAY later than “dad” ever let’s us.  (And get up WAY later than we should too)

~ You don’t have to shave for MONTHS at a time!  (Although my soccer team much appreciates it when I do!)

See, there are perks! 

So I guess I could say my misbehavior is a manifestation of me missing my dentist man?!  (Is it working?)

There are days when I get a little choked up and I’d really like him flown home just for a few minutes, for just a hug.  These are the days that walls get painted, bathrooms become spotless, chimneys get vacuumed, carpets get cleaned, light fixtures get changed and pizza get’s ordered.  Sometimes in the same day!

These are all harmless projects mind you, I do *try* to behave.  But it’s been far too long since I did something that’s on the NO list. 

So when my dentist man comes home and spots new projects, (that I smartly didn’t ask about before hand) he somewhat understands, sighs and pats me on my head.  He’s just glad the oldest is big enough to lift me and old enough to drive me to the emergency room.

 

 

I’m quite sure I’m not the only wife who does this, I just need to find them so we can gang up…. *team up* together and get these projects done faster (and avoid the whiny wives).

(I’ve been looking for my hammer for about 2 months now… he must have told the boys to hide it?  He’s getting good!)

 

4 Responses to “While they’re away”

  1. sewfordough Says:

    Hill air ee us! Hey, if you didn’t do these great projects, would they ever get done? You are the project queen. I am envious of your energy and gifts.

    To answer your question, no, t.p.ing is not bad. I actually taught my girls how to t.p. Yes, I drove them to the houses and showed them how. It was a riot. I figured if they were going to go to all that trouble (and for them, the expense of toilet paper. Kids don’t have alot of money for flambouyant purchases…hee hee), they needed to learn how to do it right AND not get caught. They were experts by the time they got it out of their systems. Of course they never did anything besides the paper. Once a boy came over and egged our front sidewalk and siding of our house. My husband had the boy come over and clean it up and repaint. Word got around fast and nothing like that happened again. The boys were afraid of him. Ha.

    Loved your “perk” section too. I thought of another perk when our hubbies are gone…the toilet seat is always in the correct position. However, with your four boys, other bathrooms in the house mean you have to be on alert..or do you have them well trained in that area?

    • blankenmom Says:

      I LOVE that you drove them! I will allow my boys to t.p. as long as they are willing to help clean it up the next day and expect it in return. Unfortunately, it’s more of an offense now days and can get you a fine or jail time (depending on the home owner), so if they’re still willing, I don’t mind – it’s harmless fun, but I’m not paying the fine! ;P

      As for training – I WISH! I just condem them to their own nasty bathroom. Hahaha!

  2. too funny! I’m down! love that last line too 🙂 my problem is I don’t wait for him to leave 🙂

    • blankenmom Says:

      Oh many, many projects have been done while he was just gone to work for the day. The kitchen sink in “that house” comes to mind. I woke up in the morning and thought “I bet a new sink would look nice?” And by the time he got home, there was a new sink put in.

      It does look good too! 😉


Any thoughts?

