My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Bored March 24, 2012

“I’m Bored!”

How many times have I heard this from my boys – and then offered them a few chores to do as they bolt for the door. 

What do I tell myself when that rattles through my head?  Yeah, yeah, I’ve got chores I could be doing.  The clothes pile is getting a bit deep, the floor in the kitchen could use a bit of a scrubbing and there’s a strange smell coming from that corner over there?  But once I get those taken care of… then what?  I 100% enjoy being a wife, homeschooling mom and occasional seamstress.  I couldn’t imaging a better way to spend my time!  But let’s face it, the boys are getting older and starting to do their own things, the hubby is gone on the ship most of the time and there’s no sewing business to be had here.  So where does that leave me?

Also, in spite of being told over and over how “old” I’m getting at a mere 36, I really don’t feel like it and it’s not exactly time for me to pull out my rocking chair and retire.  I’ll have a great many years between the boys moving out and death (I hope) and I still have yet to accomplish something outside the family!

So where does that leave me?  Hmmm –

For a little extra excitement (and to save on gas) I asked for a moped for my birthday.  A scooter maintains a certain amount of safety (it only goes 30 mph), having already been told no to a Harley until the boys move out. 

*Shrug* – I was told no.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So instead I checked out some classes at the college and it’s a bit out of our budget at this point in time.  But boy would I love to learn a few new things!  I wonder if I can find someone willing to teach an eager student?

Welding – I would love to learn some general welding and especially pipe sweating.  That would come in very handy as a homeowner!  I’m pretty good at plumbing already; this would be a great extra to really do things right.

 

 

Electrical – I would LOVE to learn more about electrical work.  I’m not bad at it now, but you really can’t know too much about it. 

 

 

Kayaking – Surfing is out at our current location.  *Bummer*  However, there IS ample water to learn to kayak.  Besides, any sport where majority of the gear is orange, can only be awesome!

 

 

Engine repair – Ok, I’ve only been able to do a few things on the car.  I do rather enjoy it though.  I’ve put a battery in and I know how to check the fluids.  I’m an expert at putting the lights in, but that’s about the extent of my knowledge when it comes to my van.  It would be great to actually know what I’m looking at under the hood!

 

 

Shooting range – *Don’t look at me like that* I’ve been thinking about taking some gun lessons.  I grew up with guns in the house; knew how to shoot with great accuracy, but’s it’s been a while.  I wouldn’t keep any in the house – keep your knickers on.  But I’d have a great time shooting again!

 

 

I could however stay the course and look into some summer classes on fashion?  Not exactly exciting, but boy would it be useful!

 

 

Maybe it’s the fact that I’ve been stuck in the house for months or it could have something to do with being called old before I’ve gotten to do something exciting?  All I know is that I’m itching to do something…. itch, itch.

I could start knocking walls out or tearing up grass for a garden.  Putting in fences, sinks, lights, shelves or cabinets, but since this isn’t my house – that would probably be frowned on. 

 

So let’s see where this goes!

 

Any thoughts?

