My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Tools March 24, 2012

Filed under: Sewing lessons — blankenmom @ 11:57 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Ah – I see you’re back and I didn’t scare you off by my last post about sewing.  Good – you’ll be rewarded!

Sewing, like many other hobbies, can be as inexpensive or as expensive as you like.  You can own all the toys that your local store or web store can offer, or you can own a sewing needles and a spool of thread.  This week I’ll show you a few items that you’re going to need as an average sewist and maybe a few that are just nice to have. 

We’ll talk about machines in a post all their own later on.  First-things-first.

If you were to walk into my sewing room, you’d see a vast amount of sewing items that you would probably never use.  If I walked into another sewers room, I would see items that I would never use.  There are just some things that work better for a few people than others and then there are items that every sewing kit must have.  

Just in case you haven’t heard the term – these items are known as Notions.

Below are the very basics:

This was laid out beautifully by this website on the most basic items you’ll need.  Although a few items could be updated or slightly altered, these are basically what you’ll have to have.  You can even go to Joanns and buy a kit with all these items already put together.

A few other “must haves” would include:

Yes - you're going to have to iron... a lot!

You’ll need some form of marking tool, but there are several options to choose from and you can have several and use what works for what you’re working with.

Great for transferring patterns. Great for curves. I prefer the non-serrated (non-bumpy) myself.

These come in triangles, squares and sometimes novelty shapes. These are great for marking notches and transferring marks.

I tend to prefer these. Easy to hold and can be sharpened like a pencil. Also comes in a larger amount of colors.

 

As strange as it sounds, you’ll need a hammer.  You don’t need a massive one, a little hammer will do.  This is the one I have in my sewing room and I use all the pieces.

This is a great little tool to have for various reasons. Stubborn jeans hems are #1.

You’ve got your measuring tape, but what if you’re not measuring a body? 

Ruler and a yard stick - Are they a must? Maybe not - but if you need to mark a straight line, these will be the perfect tools!

Sewing gauge - such a simple little thing that does so much. I love mine so much, I actually have two! Making a straight hem just got easier!

There are a few other items that I really prefer to have that make life a little easier.

I showed a stitch ripper above, but I really prefer this style. Sharper, more precise and easier on the hands. You're going to ripping a lot, you might as well make it comfortable!

Magnetic pin cushion - a must? No, but you can just fling the pins towards it and it will "catch" them. You can also wave this across the floor to catch dropped pins.

Hemostats - I don't know how I lived without these little beauties! I use them almost everyday in my sewing room and everywhere else in my house. Great for random stuck items - usually toys.

Mallet - you can use your hammer for most things, but a rubber mallet works on items that you don't want to damage. Snaps and wires for instance.

Ham and seam roll - these will make your ironing SO much easier!

 

I could honestly go on all night about items that are very useful, but these are definitely on the top of my list.  So when you head out to the store what should you absolutely bring home?  The items pictured at the top – the must haves.  After you decide you love sewing and can’t get enough – then you start down the rest of the list. 

Now quick – go shop!

 

Any thoughts?

