My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

A little of this July 7, 2012

 

…. a little of that.

 

 

 

 

With so much going on, I was having a hard time getting my thoughts straight on what exactly I wanted to talk about.

I could always fill you in on the 101 things I’ve got to get done before tomorrow or the world will end as we know it, but instead I’ll just throw out a few of the high points.

 

As my dentist man was sailing off into the sea, the first-born had made it back safely from his mission trip.  In spite of wild fires, power and water outages, and extreme heat, they managed to get the houses painted and fixed up for the folks on the indian reservation.  In between meeting new people (read: girls), seeing a section of the country he actually hasn’t seen yet (that he remembers) and a day off at a hotel to wait out an evacuation order – hearts were changed. 

He came back with some great stories of new friendships, teenage drama’s and maybe a few new followers. 

 

He also came back bearing gifts for us all!  Tea for his tea loving dental dad, a new pocket knife for his brother who can’t eat anything and chocolate “bear and deer poop” for his two youngest brothers. 

 

And what does he get his mother while on a mission trip?

 

 

 

No worries; This was paid for, stored, transported and delivered by an adult.  The son just thought of me when he saw it and shelled out the money – HA!

 

He cracks me up!

 

While he’s been catching up on his sleep and attempting to remove paint from his hair, I’ve been working on a costume for VBS.  It’s a robot – can’t you tell?

 

 

 

For the wrists and neckline.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was given the skirt and shirt that were bought from Goodwill to make into a “Rosie” type costume from the Jetsons.  (I wish I would have taken before shots.)  It will be worn over one of these creepy things –

 

 

 

 

 

 

Can’t wait to get photos!

 

And topping that off; the youngest is nursing his manly wound from our celebrations on the fourth.  Our neighbors across the street have an awesome Independence Day show.  You know – nothing says Independence from tyranny like drinking heavily, eating too much and lighting things on fire!!   While we have a few big ones, they have ones that make your hair blow back!  This year they had a few rounds of beer pong to get lit-up before they lit things up. 

After several odd rounds going into trees, under cars and one even blowing up before it launched.  What ended it all was one of the mortars getting kicked over while the lighter attempted to stumble away before it had time to launch into the air.  It shot straight at our house, with all of us in the driveway.  Not only did it end up in our garage, under our cars, in our grass and on us, but it caught the youngest on slightly on fire!  After ripping his shirt off of him, this is his manly “war wound”.   (While I don’t think the situation itself was funny, we did at least walk away relatively unharmed and he’ll have a great story to tell!)

His oldest brother and I are teaching him the manly art of “embellishment”.  By the time dad comes home he’ll have been “Totally on fire!  Having saved the whole family from total destruction, he’ll have put the house fire out completely alone – and all he got were these measly… little… scars!”  He’s showing them off to everyone and I can’t get the shirt with the hole in it away from him.  HAHAHA!

 

 

 

 

He says he can hardly wait for next year!

 

 

 

Since that is over and done with I can move on to the other 98 things that have to be done before tomorrow.  I don’t want to ruin everyone’s day by ending the world after all!

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “A little of this”

  1. trixfred30 Says:

    The world seems to be trying to end right now over here – we are slowly drowning in continuous rain!

  2. Claudine Says:

    That beer is a riot. I want some. But I’m a little disappointed that the dress will be a robot costume. I wanted to admire you for managing to incorporate that dress into your everyday life.

    • blankenmom Says:

      I have to admit, the beer was not the best tasting I’ve had, but the bottle WILL be kept. Most likely as a flower “vase” (We’re not above hillbilly here. I’ve got mason jars to drink out of! Ha!) As for the costume – I actually have shoes that would match! I could just imagine the hubs face coming home to me unclogging the kitchen drain in that outfit!


Any thoughts?

