My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Stepping out August 1, 2012

Filed under: Random thoughts,What's happening — blankenmom @ 12:47 am
Tags: , , ,

 

(My apologies in advance – I don’t normally do politics, but this really got-my-goat)

 

 

 

 

I may be out on a limb here and if you disagree that’s fine.  That’s actually more what this post is about that anything else.

 

Here in the US a company named Chic-Fil-A is being stormed by people who support or strongly dislike the company for something it’s owner said about his private views on marriage. 

This isn’t an uncommon theme lately. 

Everyday I get a barrage of FB updates telling me which company to support or not support for some reason or another.  I get it, you have an opinion.  I whole heartily support your right to spend your money where it suits you best.  I completely agree that if a company does something you dislike you have every right to not shop there.  I do the same thing.

  • Guns/No guns
  • SSM/Traditional
  • Choice/Life
  • Faith/No Faith
  • Muslim/Anti Muslim
  • Mil/Non Mil

Where my agreement with this ends is when large groups or the government try to step in and tell the company that they may not have that opinion or face possible removal.  Or in this case, a private citizen who happens to own a large business.

If you don’t like a business – don’t shop there.  There are 10’s, 100’s or 1000’s of other business that will accommodate you happily.

 

The same goes with clubs.  Why would you ask to join if they don’t share the same values as you?  To change them?  Then they’d no longer be the group you wanted to join in the first place.  Find a club that suits you better and leave the other clubs to their own business.

 

In Georgia recently the KKK asked to buy into the “Adopt a Highway” program.  While I completely disagree with their standing, they have every right to exist under free speech (as long as it’s only speech) and to buy that section.  (Granted I’d be very tempted to keep dumping my garbage on that stretch!)

 

Just because we don’t agree with someone, does not mean we should silence them.  I dislike a lot of idea’s – but unless someone is actually getting harmed (*Cough* KKK) then they have every right to exist.  Not only exist, but to speak freely.

 

The bakery who chose not to cater to a SS couple.  Why would you want that business to make your cake anyway – wouldn’t you want someone who shared your passion?  Leave them to the people who agree with them and take your money somewhere else. 

Companies should have the right to say “No Thank You” to people they disagree with also, even if it costs them.

I’ve been turned away – I didn’t turn it into a huge situation.  I spent my money elsewhere.  End of story!

 

At some point-in-time it will end up being your opinion that some large group or the government doesn’t agree with.  What then?

 

I will be joining others on the 1’st in supporting Chick-Fil-A.  Not because I like their food (I’m not partial to it actually) and not because of an opinion for or against what their owner had as a private citizen.  I’ll be supporting them because we are supposed to have the right to freedom of speech, even if it IS slowly getting chipped away…..

 

One Response to “Stepping out”

  1. Amanda Burrow Says:

    Love your entry today. So glad that we have the ability to say what we want. Sadly, I think the current political battle is making some people better apologetics. You really have to defend your beliefs and I believe God will guide this. Oh lord FB really blows my mind. It amazes me how many people jumped over all this. It upsets me because why can’t we have our beliefs? Its okay to shove gay-marriage down our throat everyday on tv, and all over the media. But why can’t we express ourselves and our beliefs. My favorite part of this that Christians are automatically thrown out of this arguement because we are just not smart…picture me saying this in a sarcastic manner!!! But because you have Christian beliefs you are counted out of the arguement over whether gay marriage should legalized or shoud a state support a referedum on Marriage between a man and a woman. So I can’t get my words in because I am not smart enough!!! But thank God for that first ammendment, I can’ say whatever my big mouth wants to say! This stupid Christian wont shut-up or stop marching for what I believe in!!


Any thoughts?