My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Just call me Debby Downer November 2, 2012

Filed under: Broken/Repaired,What's happening,WTFr — blankenmom @ 7:59 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

 

 

Manhattan dark – it’s very eery!

 

 

Not to sound like a complainer, Debby as we know her, but this has been a pretty crappy few months!

Why do I say this… again.  We are now the lucky owners of a soggy house on the east coast.

 

Awesomeness.

 

 

This is a house in a neighboring town – this is pretty much what our town looks like.

 

 

 

 

You’re jealous I know it!

 

I refuse to stop there though –

WE are one of the lucky few from the little town “that house” is in.  “That house” survived.  Not that we really wanted it to, but there are people who actually like their houses, live in them and lost *everything*!  We have friends who lost entire business’, houses and cars.

 

 

 

A friends bakery. They will not be reopening.

One of our favorite restaurants/bars to knit at. They will be reopening.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I am very thankful that no one I know passed away from Sandy – the wench!

 

On top of this, our great new renters who hadn’t even gotten the chance to unpack yet, have been so incredibly wonderful about the whole thing.  Why shouldn’t they be you ask, since it’s not really our fault?  This is the second time this year they’ve lost everything due to an east coast storm.  And they’re still so chipper about it!

 

I have to admit, that really helps my mood, not to mention my stress level.

 

I don’t have pictures yet of the mess that was left at “that house”, but I’ve been told by several people already what’s there.  While my dentist man and I are hoping it get’s knocked down and rebuilt or bought out, I think the best we can hope for is a new first floor.  Water made it at least 3 feet up our walls, of an already raised house.  7  1/2 feet of water is what I’ve been told.   Plus a tree that took out our fences, shed and deck.

 

But again, we’re one of the lucky ones!  I’ve seen pictures of houses completely collapsed and these are homes people loved!

 

So, while we’re feeling the sting of yet another kick in the pants, our hearts really go out to our friends and “neighbors” who were truly hit hard by this.

 

 

Nearby town.

 

 

So hopefully I won’t need to keep the nick-name Debby.  Maybe just Deb, since I’m still holding out hope for the upcoming year.

 

For now I’m taking this as life experience –

 

 

I'll post pic's of our actual house and more of the town once they come through.  
Some photo's by Mark Vetrini; all others are uknown.
 

Any thoughts?

