My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

sew, knit, pray. December 1, 2012

…. maybe not in that order.

 

As I was sitting and knitting a gift at my youngest’s soccer practice, I was talking with one of the other mothers and mentioned “Wow this has been a REALLY long week!”  She looked at me strangely and that’s when I realized it was only Monday – never a good sign!

 

While the rest of the week flew by in a flurry of loan signing for the work that needs to be done on “that house” and getting the contractor started from 3500 miles away.  Friday seemed to sneak up on me in a rather rude way with my dentist man making some new decisions for our future and the old lady dog getting a bladder infection and leaving me wet presents all over the house.  I love my carpet cleaner!!

 

Thank goodness for Christmas music, projects and little boys!

 

Through the week I finished up several projects and started a few new ones.  My second born’s “Broken Arm Blanket” is mostly finished.  All I need to do is sew in the tails, but I’m reserving that for the last appointment.  I had the first row started the night I got the call.  Knitted it through every surgery and appointment.  It’s WAY to big, but the boys love it, it looks great and it’s actually pretty soft for acrylic.

 

 

IMG_2478

 

 

Granny’s scarf; not only is this scarf in pink (bleck), but it was the first time I had worked in lace….. i officially hate lace now.  But it does look pretty, and that’s all that matters right?  *Never mind the bruises on my forehead from smacking it into the desk in frustration*

 

 

IMG_2483

 

 

I also finished my MIL’s scarf.  I’m not as pleased with this merely for the fact that when I soaked it, most of the yellow came out making it less green and more grey.  She loves green and that was the point of the scarf!  But she’ll love the silk anyway – she’s good like that.  It did turn out nicely though.  (Is it just me, or does the pattern in the main part look like a super hero mask?)

 

 

IMG_2565

 

 

Something a bit festive – it should be done in time for next Christmas!

 

 

IMG_2566

 

 

I also have another large knitted gift in the works – but those folks read my blog and I don’t want them seeing it before they get it…. which will most likely be after Christmas, as usual.  I’ll post that gift after it’s sent to them!  *grin*

 

I also started the churches Christmas costumes this week.  This year I have help sewing them though, so hopefully I’m still sane by the time Christmas actually comes around.  I’ve already threatened the set/costume director that I’d get “stabby” if she kept adding costumes on this year – good thing she knows I like her and only get “stabby” with people who don’t bring me coffee!

 

 

IMG_2570

I have some “help”.

 

 

On my third attempt to send of my dentist man’s gifts… I’ll be attempting again on Monday.  So not my week!

 

 

IMG_2571

 

 

As for our rapidly approaching new future, I’ll be praying more on that.  My heart isn’t truly happy with how it’s coming out, but sometimes my heart lies and my head has to give it a good beating.

 

 

heart snow

 

 

 

(Get it… heart… beating… snicker)

 

