My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

“Teenager time” January 12, 2013

Filed under: Boys,Family,Random thoughts — blankenmom @ 1:20 am
Tags: , , ,

 

 

clock

 

 

 

It’s a curious phenomena.  Around the age of 12 or 13, children – better known at this age as teenagers, slooooooow toooooo a craaaaaaawl.  I don’t know why?  I don’t know what causes it?  And I don’t know how to fix it?

 

I’m quite sure I did it too, but I can’t remember it for anything.  Probably a good thing!

 

When telling my 17, almost 18-year-old son that we’re leaving at 9 am, he will wait until 8:55 to start getting ready.  Whether he thinks he can actually brush his teeth, shower, dress, pack and eat in those five minutes or he just doesn’t care that the rest of us are already sitting in a 30* car, I’m not sure?  But there we are….. sitting.

 

When telling my 14, almost 15-year-old around noon that I need the dishes done or he can’t play video games at 4, he waits until five minutes before and then barks at me that “the chore” is keeping him from his game time.

 

When asking my 12 1/2-year-old to get dressed, because that’s what normal people do on a daily basis, he has to read another chapter, punch his brother, find something to eat and then maybe, just maybe, he’ll get dressed.

 

And now, when asking my 10, almost 11-year-old to get ready for soccer, which should only take 10 minutes tops when everything is set out, I’m standing there at the door 40 minutes later wondering what the heck went wrong?  And why he’s walking out to the car with all his clothes in his hands so he can dress on the way there?  “What were you doing this whole time?”  

 

 

 

turtle

 

 

 

Recently my oldest needed to pay for his college classes.  They gave him two days to get it paid or he loses his spot.  He delayed until the last-minute and then finds out that the website closes early.  Now what?

 

“Mom, I asked you to do it!  Why couldn’t you get it done?”

 

My usually self-sufficient, well-behaved, energetic, bright son became whiny,  incompetent and unable to function in normal society?  And somehow the cause of his downfall is my lack of compassion and inability to move fast enough for him.

 

While I know this is normal and am fully aware of the humor in all of this, I just wonder how our civilization has survived to pass beyond the teen years?

 

 

daisies

 

6 Responses to ““Teenager time””

  1. Hahahahahaha! I’m only laughing because I live with teenagers, too. You’re right, you DO have to keep your sense of humor. My husband tells me that this behavior is Mother Nature’s way of getting us to want to kick them out of the nest. If they stayed cute and sweet their whole life, it would be too painful to let them go out on their own. This way we’re excited when they leave.
    Hang in there, because I also have children in their late twenties and I know they do come around and become pleasant again.
    Beth

    • blankenmom Says:

      That’s my exact theory! They bug me so I’m not sad when the leave (or at least as sad) and I irritate them (evident by the eye rolls), so they’ll be eager to leave!

      But thank you for the hope for when they get older. Some days I really do wonder?

  2. trixfred30 Says:

    When asked to get ready to go out this weekend my 9 year old lay on the floor and began wriggling around asking ‘Do I look like a worm’? Look Daddy I’m a wriggly worm’. I gave up, we didn’t make it out the door.

  3. The teem years are designed as feats of parental strength. What does not kill us makes us stronger…parents.:)

    • blankenmom Says:

      It is SO true! I may finish this race 7 years from now (no…. I’m not counting down or anything *whistles sheepishly*) with grey hair and wrinkles, but by-golly I earned each one!

      Glad you stopped by! 🙂


Any thoughts?

