My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Seriously? March 9, 2013

Filed under: Broken/Repaired,Hubby,Military,What's happening — blankenmom @ 6:02 pm
Tags: , , ,

 

 

 

 

May I please take a moment to vent before my head pop’s off my shoulders and roll’s away from me….

 

Sandy (that b****) came at the end of October.  Our poor renters had only been in there two weeks and hadn’t even been able to fully unpack.

 

*SWOOSH* The whole first floor was gone and most of their belongings!

 

It’s now been 4 1/2 months: no rent, no insurance, the best we’ve gotten was a small check that can’t even be used because it’s too small to fix anything… and this is after numerous calls, pleads and emails.

 

We took out a small loan to get things started and were assured that we’d get that money back from insurance….. still waiting….

 

Our renters have finally left for their own safety and sanity, although anything they had on the second and third floor is still stuck up there because there is no first floor to walk on.

 

Today I received that small check back in the mail stating that my husband…. yeah, the one that’s been out on the ocean for nearly 2 years, needs to sign it also.  Oh, don’t get me wrong – they full well know he’s been gone this whole time.  This is after all the same insurance company that explained to me that they put us on the list of “second homes” after I explained we had it rented out because we’re stationed on the other side of the country.  I’m sorry – what?  Sure, I just fly my private jet out there every weekend to enjoy *that house* because military families really make that much.  So sure, I can sit on an extra mortgage payment every month, why not!

 

So now they’d like me to apparently swim out and get his signature too.

 

Ok, ok.  The reality is that I have to resend the check with his POA.  (Or at least I hope that’s all they’re going to ask for?)  But that’s not the point here.  This insurance company has been delaying a lot of people’s checks, not just ours, to get their homes fixed and putting a rental home as a “second home” is being even more dishonest.

They knew full and well that we wouldn’t be able to use that check.  I just am at a loss as to how they think this is justifiable?

 

This is the same insurance company that would remind me every time I called “That people were homeless and we were not, so we should feel thankful.”   My only replay was “You mean LIKE MY RENTERS!”

 

I think the part that really got to me was when the adjuster actually said to me, “How *exactly* is this affecting your husbands job?”

“Uh well, the poor guy is 5000 miles away and has no idea what is actually happening.  Knows we can’t afford a mortgage and rent.  Is wondering if we’ll lose the house, if we can pay the rent or pay for food.  He has no control over anything and knows that I’m over here alone, taking care of both houses, insurance crap, dying dogs, our family and preparing for the next move.  So you tell me, how exactly this would affect your job?”

 

4 1/2 months later –

 

1355197726232

 

– this is all we’ve got, with a check that can’t be used.

I really just have no words…..

 

4 Responses to “Seriously?”

  1. Claudine Says:

    You have a mortgage on this place? Have you considered walking away? That may be your best alternative at this point. There are a myriad of reasons that your insurance company is delaying payment, but one is that they don’t want to pay up on a house that may be condemned because it’s in a flood zone.

    Take a good hard look at your situation and do what is right for you.

    I really am trying to be helpful. If you are insulted or think this comment is rude or otherwise out of line, please delete it.

    • blankenmom Says:

      Thank you!

      We’ve actually been told that by several people actually and my body would be grateful. Our thoughts are that one, we really dislike walking away from something we owe. Two, that it would ruin our credit making renting, owning and attempting to buy a practice nearly impossible, even under these circumstances. And three, that would be letting this piece of crap company win, instead I’m thinking we go to the mat and get what we need!

  2. Wow. And wow. I am so sorry you are going through this AND had the bonus pain of that unkind comment that shows “exactly” how great the divide in understanding is between military and civilian worlds. Hope things get better soon!

    • blankenmom Says:

      Thank you!!

      Things will get better, but it’s definitely teaching some hard, tough lessons. In 20 years this will seem so far away, but in 20 years I won’t be trying feed and clothe my family. Just think – if they are treating a deployed soldiers family this poorly, how are they treating other folks who don’t have a voice and have even less respect for?


Any thoughts?

