My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

It’s Done!! May 11, 2013

 

 

 

 

Done

 

 

Yes – that house… is officially done!

Ok, one small detail, but other than a change of a hall carpeting…

it’s done!

1352513518540

New Image 105

Through tears, heartache, headaches, complaints, (possibly some yelling), cage rattling on my part and finally….. some sweat and hard work on the part of our contractor to get us to the end.  It’s been exhausting and it’s been infuriating.  6 months of hair pulling, listening to lies, excuses and being given the run around – and then being handed paper work, so the process can start over again.

1352513540442

New Image 101

With the help of our former renters, contractor and some great people keeping us going through all of the process, we’ve got a beautiful house we’ll admit we own.

New Image 100

1352513519110

New Image 99

Is it nice enough to make us move back?  Heck no!

But for once we’re proud to own it!

New Image 83

New Image 911352513518849

New Image 106

.

Anyone want a house?

 

8 Responses to “It’s Done!!”

  1. trixfred30 Says:

    Stunning floor – don’t walk on it! And yes I’d like that house but over here…

    • blankenmom Says:

      The last floor was original to the house from 1900, so it was a bit of a bummer to have to lose it, but he definitely made up for it! Are you sure you wouldn’t want a vacation home though? I mean, you can see the beach and Manhattan from the top floor…. and on occasion, the ocean comes right into your living room – no commute or nasty tourists to contend with! 😉

  2. sewfordough Says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! Bet you never thought this day would come. It looks just gorgeous! So glad your hubby is home now too. Life is looking up for you and I couldn’t be happier for you!

    • blankenmom Says:

      Honestly – I really didn’t. I was seriously doubting I would ever see a floor again.

      And yes, things are starting to slowly, very slowly turn around. I think it might take a year or two to recover. I think this year will have made me 10x’s stronger! Not that I’m asking for more to find out though. 😉

  3. Claudine Says:

    Hooray! I’m so glad it worked out.

    • blankenmom Says:

      Thank you!! I am too – I think it was maybe… possibly worth the wait? Maybe not, but it’s pretty none-the-less! 😀 I can’t thank our contractor enough for everything he did for us.

  4. Congrats!!! Looks beautiful!


Any thoughts?

