My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

A Von Trapp moment December 22, 2013

Filed under: Home improvement,Sewing — blankenmom @ 12:26 am
Tags: ,

 

 

I wake up every morning and these are the first things I see.  The gorgeous morning sun, shining in from 3 windows lighting up a new day, and these….

 

 

IMG_3399

 

 

….these are the curtains in our bedroom.  They’re broken and circa 1980 as is most everything in the house.  I’m not all that fond of the 80’s, but this fabric has been calling to me…. just not as window coverings.

 

I have little use for curtains – our house is high enough up the hill that you can’t really see in, not that we’re exciting enough to want to see in anyway.  In most of our homes I don’t use window coverings; makes me feel all claustrophobic.  (My husband is a very patient man)

So what does a person do with their ugly curtains when they won’t be using them and no one else is going to want them?

 

dress of course!

 

 

dress

 

She’s a little too happy – sorta freaking me out?  Must be all that Valium from the 50’s. 

 

 

My only problem at the moment is that my sewing room still looks like this….

 

 

IMG_3402

Notice my cutting table is back – that repair guy did an *amazing* job repairing the legs!

 

It’s scary, I know.  My first project for the new year – get my sewing room in order.  My first sewing project – this dress.

 

 

That and the light from our room, which will be turned into a hanging bird bath this summer.

 

 

IMG_3400

Groovy ain’t it!

This isn’t the first time I’ve done this either!  Please tell me I’m not the only one who pulls their curtains off the walls to make pants, bed skirts and dresses?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “A Von Trapp moment”

  1. sewfordough Says:

    I haven’t made anything from my drapes cuz I don’t have any! I have blinds. But, I’m not that industrious either, so I can’t wait to see your dress when it’s finished. It’s going to be beautiful!

  2. Emmely Says:

    While I haven’t actually taken any curtains down to make something I have made some bags using fabric I had left-over from making my curtains. Does that count?
    Good luck on getting organised!


Any thoughts?

