My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

20 days fast January 10, 2014

 

Our church is doing a 21 day fast.  The fast is anything you feel you can’t live without.  If it’s your morning coffee – go without it.  If it’s having a drink – go without it.  If it’s sports – go without it.  If it’s shopping – go without it.  If it’s food, they suggested The Daniel Diet…. to which our family had a good laugh over when we discovered we’re essentially already on it.

Mine, mine is media.  I don’t know if you know this, but I’m a news junkie.  My daily routine starts off with news, continues with news and ends with news.  Websites, YouTube videos, talk radio, magazines…..  granted it can be a great teaching tool at times, but at a certain point it can become too much.  So – I can go without it.

I will admit however that the 21 days threw my bit of OCD off, so I’m going with 20 days…. yeah, I should probably have worked in an “anal retentive fast” also, but one thing at a time here.  So no FB, no news outlets, no websites, no talk radio and very limited t.v. only after the boy’s head to bed.  I’ll be catching up with the blogs I’m missing in a few more weeks.

.

.How am I doing you ask?

Don’t…. it’s pretty sad and pathetic.

.

However, on the bright side, I am getting quite a bit done.  I’m finally getting my sewing room put together and my dress started.

After watching the sales for several months and doing some major research, I managed to find an excellent deal on a new compound miter saw plus a stand – on sale (I love sales!).  Even after looking on Craigslist I couldn’t have found it cheaper, so I’m pretty pleased with myself!  Along with another new tool from several months ago to keep things looking clean when I put the tables together.  Granted the room won’t be done over night, but at least it’ll start to look like a sewing room again.

.

.

IMG_3464

IMG_3465

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

And tonight while my dentist man is off at reserve duty, I managed to get the curtains down.  *cough, cough, cough*  They may have been up there since the Carter administration?  The curtains are washing as I type and hopefully, not shrinking.  Wait…. is that a light switch?  I didn’t know that was there!

.

.

IMG_3467

IMG_3466

.

.

.

.

.

.

At this point, I have no idea what’s going on in the world around me, but I know there is a giant pot of Chili cooking, curtains washing, wood cut, dogs walked and three boys that have had their mom’s undivided attention for the last week, so maybe the outside world can wait two more weeks after all?

.

.

IMG_3459

