My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Von Trapp moment finally February 2, 2014

Filed under: Church,Family,Home improvement,Sewing — blankenmom @ 1:17 am
Tags: , ,

IMG_3504

IMG_3399

.

.

.

.

.

 

 

 

My “media fast” is officially over, but the results are still with me.  The need for constantly checking FB, news sites or sitting and listening to news all day, at least for now, isn’t something I feel I need to constantly keep doing.  It does feel freeing, but I also feel a bit in the dark.  I will confess however that I’ve been watching A LOT of documentaries…… not sure if that’s any better?  I do now know that chimpanzee’s will not repeat the behavior of another chimpanzee just because it see’s it do it, unlike humans which fortunately or unfortunately, depending on the circumstances, will.

.

Hmmmm…. guess I can’t call the boys monkey’s any more?

.

But beyond my docu-thon, I finally finished my “Von Trapp Dress”.  I must say, this was one of the easiest Vogue patterns I’ve ever worked on.  They tend to get a bit wild with their patterns – good for a challenge, not so good for something relaxing.  This was very relaxing!  Also something I would hope that the Refashionista or the Renegade Seamstress would enjoy, although it’s not exactly the same – it is up-cycling.  Either way gosh darn it, I’m rather proud of it!

I’ll probably never wear it, but man it’ll look good on my wall… good thing they were curtains!

.

A few of the details ~

.

IMG_3508

 

.

I hand-picked the zipper to make sure everything lined up just right.

.

.

IMG_3506

.

.

Due to not having enough fabric, I disguised the pattern inconsistency by adding a detail down the middle to distract the eye slightly.

.

.

 IMG_3505

.

.

The “buttons” at the shoulders and on the back of the cummerbund are actually beads I had found for my last project.

.

.

IMG_3509

.

.

And I’m proud to say, I used the lining of the curtain as the lining of the whole dress, eliminating the need to make a hem… hehehe!

.

I plan on sharing some of what I learned on this project, but for now I think I’ll just catch up on some ironing.  And maybe another documentary.

 

2 Responses to “Von Trapp moment finally”

  1. Granny Malone Says:

    wow! Great job! I love that dress. What is the pattern number? Makes me think of one I used to wear a LOOONG time ago. I think I could still rock this with my pearls. Totally going to make this. Thanks for sharing.
    Granny Malone


Any thoughts?

