My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Tutu’s and bbq’s May 13, 2014

0512141445

 

.

 

We’re in full bloom out in our little desert.  Luckily I don’t have these particular allergies or I’d be one grouchy woman!  Hay season should be interesting?

 

.

 

One of the boys (the one I have to sit with) has finished his schoolwork for the year, allowing me to start some outside activities.  I have bushes cut back all over the yard.  I have one GIANT one left – I can feel it’s fear!

This has left me pretty tired by the time the sun goes down at night, but I did manage to finally finish my costume.  I had started it so long ago – it’s almost sad.  Between Sandy, renters, church costumes, moves and dog issues, this was one tough costume to get finished.  Doubly glad it’s done!

.

.

 

IMG_3706

 

.

 

IMG_3707

.

.

I need to point out that I can’t fully tighten a corset on “Betty” or I’d crush her poor old body.  It looks way better on me than on her without all the wrinkles and a fully closed back.  

.

I love the costume, but realize the mistakes in the top.  But since it’s my first corseted type top, I’m ok with that.  My next one should be much easier and much better looking.  This is still fully wearable though – where ever you’d actually wear this?

I also learned that if you want a nice, stand-up bow, use a wired ribbon.  I know of a few costumes I could have used this on.

.

.

This was also Mother’s day weekend.  And while I’m not big on pomp-and-circumstance for any occasion, the fam realized we were in need of something and decided Mother’s day was the perfect day to get it.

.

.

IMG_3709

My Mother’s day gift – don’t be jelly!  

.

.

I really do love my new grill!  And we’ve discovered that I’m a better cook on the grill than the oven for some odd reason.  We had the best roast yesterday along with some asparagus from a co-worker.

.

While I was out to pick up my new grill (I got to pick it) I managed to lock myself out of the truck…. again.  And when I say again, I mean, this was the third time since we’ve moved here!  AAA says I get one more lock out this year.  *sigh*  But while I waited I managed to pick out the flooring, lighting, windows and almost found the back splash I want for the house!

.

Lowe’s needs to hide people’s keys.

.

Once I got home I realized the two spares we have were on the same key chain.  *double sigh*  But I managed to get a few things picked out and a nice tan while I waited – can’t complain!

.

With the weather changing and school soon to be out, we’ll see what new trouble I can get into….

.

…..bbq anyone?

 

 

 

 

 

Any thoughts?

