My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Fire in the bush August 11, 2014

Filed under: Boys,Family,Home improvement,Homeschooling — blankenmom @ 12:06 am
Tags: , , ,

 

 

0802142007a

 

 

 

We’ve been spending our days of late working outside on our giant juniper bush.  It was blocking our view from downstairs and in our area, having a juniper bush that close to the house is a big ol’ fire hazard!  We’ll miss the bunnies scurrying into it, but not enough to risk fires.  No worries, they still have the lower part of the bush, sage brush and junipers on the side of the house.  Bob, Bobbett and the little Bob’s will be well taken care of!

 

 

0803141736

Local fires smoke blowing through.

 

Between 110* plus temps, trips and camp, it’s taken a little longer than I had planned on.  I had multiple projects slated for my summer.  The comical part was that we were only able to get about 125 ft x 5 ft x 6 ft.  We still have about 125 ft x 25 ft down the hill to go!  We’re saving that fun for next summer – do we know how to do summer or what!

 

There has been no sewing, no interior projects, no other yard projects.  Just… the bush.

 

 

0620141712

 

 

My children strongly dislike me now.

 

 

0810141846

I know, it looks pretty hideous now.  This time next year it will be all green again!

 

 

Our legs are cut, bruised and scarred.  Our arms itch.  We’ve all discovered that we’re allergic to the darn thing (good thing it’s going!).  Multiple hornet nest and various other interesting bugs.  We’ve discovered muscles we didn’t know we had.  And we’re all sporting lovely farmers and sock tan’s.  Try to be classy in heals when you’re sporting a sock tan!  

 

 

0620141712b

Blocked view

 

 

The good parts though – we all have a healthy glow.  We now have a view from downstairs.  There will be far less of a fire hazard next year.  The boys made a little cash.  I also now know how to  make any necessary repairs to my chain saw.

 

 

0810141846a

New view

 

 

I also got to spend several days, without distraction, with the boys.  Good or bad, we talked – a lot!  I know their plans for life.  I know every lame joke possible.  I know what they’ve been Youtubing and listening to on Pandora and Spotify.  I know what they want for Christmas and their birthdays.  I know what they think on current politics.  I know what kind of girls they like.  I know every.last.detail. of what happened at camp.  I know every useless fact that has ever come off the internet!  Grumbling or not, they obviously needed the time to share.

 

 

0620141746

 

 

What an amazing thing to end up knowing my boys so much better, because we took a huge project on together.  Somethings a little too much?  Kids may grumble and groan at the prospect of work.  Before, during and after.  I may have wanted to wring their necks at some point (or several) through the process, revoke every dime I had offered them, or send them back in, but I knew this is what they needed.  Someone to listen between the lines, between the complaints, between the “twig” jokes.  Our kids are talking to us.

 

 

0805141409

 

 

Tonight after picking up the last few branches in 102* temps, tired and hungry, I was sort of bummed it was over.  We start school Sept.1 (I love it when the 1st lines up on a Monday!!), then they go back to schoolwork and a schedule.

 

They are the biggest reason I love summer!

 

 

0802142046

 

 

 

 

6 Responses to “Fire in the bush”

  1. trixfred30 Says:

    No chance of bush fires here… we are experiencing the back end of an American hurricane….

  2. aburrow76 Says:

    Love these kinds of moments. “Working puts hair on your chest”…haha. But every once in awhile as parents this is a good thing! Love the beautiful pics as well!

    • blankenmom Says:

      Thanks! The sunsets here are *amazing*! I admit I get a few more of these types of moments with the boys because they’re home with me, but I still love each one of them. And that is a frequent saying in our house – the boys keep asking me why I don’t have any then. Hahaha!


Any thoughts?

