My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Some sort of new year January 2, 2016

Filed under: Family,Pets,Random thoughts — blankenmom @ 7:44 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

1230151503

.

.

Happy New Year to everyone!  

 

Something we can all share in.  No religious, cultural, or ethnic differences there, we all experience the new year.  Like birth and death, we all experience it differently, but we all experience it none-the-less.

And in the same way, we look forward to the upcoming year in different ways.

Our last few years have been a little rough.  And my normally “Pollyanna’ish” outlook has become a bit less as of late.  In other words – I was dreading the upcoming year.  All I could see were more rental issues.  More military issues.  More teenager issues.  More… issues.  And another move and a lot of chaos where I’d rather have some peace.

And right as I was attempting to pull myself out of the funk before the new year struck, Travelers, the insurance company for American Water denied our claim (stating that the water issue was our fault), our van door handle broke, and my dentist man’s CRV’s wiring went haywire causing his front lights to go out randomly.  And the pug has a giant… something on her nose.

Excellent start to the new year already.

And this is where I had to make a choice.  Probably a choice a lot of us have to make.

How are we going to head into this next step?   How are we going to look at life and what comes at us?

I can’t just drop the last year and all it’s mess, life doesn’t work that way.  So I head into this new year tired, run down, full of dread.  But, I also head into it with a lot more wisdom.  A lot more knowledge.  And lot more faith.  And just as I was about to give up, and just let everything fall apart around me, I was reminded that this isn’t for me to carry.  I need to hand this last worn and heavy year off the Lord, and allow Him to hand back the new year.  Fresh and light.  And I’ll walk through it with Him, battle worn and marked with scars from all the years before, so that I can remember what He’s carried me through.

We shouldn’t pretend that we’re not affected and that we’re all ready for the next step.  It’s ok to admit when you need help to move on.  The important part, is that you do move on.

.

So forgive me if I don’t say that I’m completely stoked for the upcoming year.  I can say, that I am excited to tell you about how I got through it.

 

 

1222151906

 

.

.

And I can’t wait to see watch how great your new year goes!

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Some sort of new year”

  1. Shelley Says:

    Such wisdom. Thank you for the reminder. Its been easier to become jaded. And hard knowing that as we get older physical problems are just about a given. Good friends from church recently went through a time of the husband being sick with cancer. But they had such beautiful attitudes that they, too, have reminded me to keep my head up and where my help comes from. And to do so with grace.

    • blankenmom Says:

      It’s hard! Especially when you try to do it alone. It sounds like these two had each other, their church, and their faith to help them. Make sure you have people with you that will help remind you of the great things around you; God gives them to you for that very reason. My prayers for your upcoming year, and that you find your grace to demonstrate, through it.


Any thoughts?

