My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Champagne tastes… January 11, 2016

Filed under: Family,Home improvement,Renovations — blankenmom @ 3:25 pm
Tags: , ,

 

 … on a boxed wine budget.

.

.

0111161510b[1].

.

.

I’ve started taking pictures of our renovations on the house, to you know, actually post!  Most of the projects are only partially finished because of trim work, or staining that needs to be done.  With our recent budget woes we’re having to get very creative.  Which I don’t find all that bad.  I think the house will turn out much better if we have to figure out another way to do things.  I just wished I had more time though.  No money and no time isn’t the best conditions for a whole upper floor renovation, but it *will* get done!  (I think?)

We’re going for a pub’ish feel.  I don’t want to get too locked into a “look” though, or it becomes gimmicky and goofy looking, so I just want the casual, comfortable, masculine feel of a pub.  Darker colors, because we get a ton of light and can carry the darker colors.  Wood, stone and metals.  The floors will be worn pine that can be scratched and nicked without me panicking – I’ll actually encourage it to make it look like it’s been there for a while.

.

.

0111161510a[1]

.

.

What I’m finding out with this project is, that I have impeccable taste in home decor, although I suppose depends on your decor style?  As I’m looking for bathroom and kitchen fixtures, I chose to go with oil rubbed bronze… having never replaced fixtures for the purpose of just updating instead of to just get it to work correctly, I had never priced nice fixtures.  Yeah, oil rubbed bronze happens to be one of the more expensive looks I could have picked.  So, I’ll be spray painting it on where I can (places that won’t be touched) and saving the money for the fixtures that will be touched frequently.

.

The copper sinks will remain on my Houzz page, except in the kitchen.  We’re making that a focal point, something extravagant, and saving money on other things to pay for it.  But I have discovered that you can make your own sinks out of bowls for a very nice, casual look.  I am so in love with this idea for the bathrooms!

All but a few of the lights are already up, leaving  just a few to either still be decided on, or just be installed.  (It’s too cold to be up in the attic right now unless I have to be.)  Our bathroom light is the one that’s really stumping me.  With not enough room to either side of the mirror/cabinet to put lights up like they say you “should”, I have to decide whether I go with what people say, or what I want?  So… it’s on hold.

Bathroom fans are being discussed still.  We have a gap in our opinions with one of us wanting a quiet bathroom fan that would actually be turned on during  showers and one of us wanting a jet fan that covers… um… noises in the restroom.  So, I’m still doing research.

The current project is staining cabinets and doors.  You don’t really realize just how many cabinets you actually have until you have to pull them all off, mark, strip, stain and put them back up.  So far I’ve nearly gotten the laundry room done and our bathroom.  Leaving all the other doors, the other bathroom and the whole kitchen.  The whole kitchen… yeah.

I started in the laundry room so that I could get used to the product in a room most people don’t go in to, before I go to the rest of the house.  So the laundry room looks slightly different from what the rest of the house will look like, but not enough to make you wonder what happened.

.

We are currently on the look-out for a non-latex, small chemical mask.  If you’ve know of one, let me know – I’m starting to get a bit high on the fumes!

.

We’re holding off on the floors for more than budget reasons.  Yes it would be awesome to have floors again, but it’s so much easier painting and staining with out them!  I highly recommend leaving your floors until the last if you can if you ever do a renovation.  “Oops!  Dropped paint on the floor – don’t walk through it.”  That’s it.  No panicking over the carpet or new floor.  We will however be starting to buy the flooring we want on a weekly basis.  Little by little, ready to install when we’ve worked our way from the top, to the bottom.

There are three places we’re putting trim.  Around the doors and windows.  Floorboards.  And we’re doing something called “picture railing”.  I was looking up chair railing and picture railing popped up.  So I’m having to find trims that all go with each other.  And… I have to admit, I’m a bit nervous about cutting trim.  It’s not cheap, and I don’t want to screw it up.  I have trim for the kitchen that needs to be put up, but there it sits with me YouTubing trim work until I feel comfortable with the miter cuts, and my measuring skills.

.

And this is where we start the new year with our house renovation.  Slow but steady, it’ll come together and be gorgeous.  And as promised, pictures are coming shortly.  I can’t wait to share the projects as I go along.

.

.

0105160807[1]

 

Any thoughts?

