My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

Confession of a not so closet trekkie March 11, 2017

Filed under: Sewing — blankenmom @ 8:20 pm
Tags: , ,

.

.

Star Trek

.

.

So… I’m a trekkie.  (A fan of all things Star Trek, if you’re not privy to that term.)

.

A lot of my time watching reruns now however, is seeing how they made the costumes?  I know all the plot lines.  I know where it’s going, so I can spend more time trying to figure out just how they got that hem line, crease or shade.  While watching the original series, I spend a lot of time just trying to figure out how in the world they got the garment to stay exactly where they needed it too, with out… parts… popping out?

.

 

sexy-costumespink

Yeah… we’re talking to you ladies wearing the magical tape, glue or wires!

.

One costume specifically, even as a kid, I’ve always wanted.  Maybe not exactly how they made it, but the idea of it.

.

Dr. Polanski 2

.

Recently I told my dentist man that I really I want to make it.  One of those – long, drawn out, slowly done, time consuming, artsy-fartsy that will take forever, but its worth it – type of projects.

“Why?”

“Because I want to?”

“When would you wear this?”

“Vacuuming?”

“Then why would you make it?”

…looks at him confused…

…looks at me confused…

“Because I can?”

“Ok?”

.

He doesn’t understand, but he rolls with it.

.

On breaks from the quilt and renovating, mostly while I sit waiting for the boys at random events and appointments, I will start to plan and plot what I want exactly.  What I’ll need.  How I’ll do it.  I’m quite sure it will change as the project goes along, but that will be part of the fun – to see where it goes!

.

After 40 or so years of watching Star Trek, and wanting this specific costume.  I’m finally going to start it.  Slowly… very slowly.  No reason to ruin something you’ve thought about nearly your whole life, by rushing it.  Especially when there’s no deadline.

.

.

Dr. Polanski 1

Is There No Truth In Beauty? S:3 Ep:5 1968

.

.

What are dream projects for you?

.

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Any thoughts?

