My Blanken World

My world of boys, textiles and moving.

On the run December 9, 2011

Filed under: Boys,Church,Homeschooling,Hubby,Navy,Pets,Sewing — blankenmom @ 9:42 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Before the true craziness set in I thought I’d stop by and poke my head in to make sure everyone knew I hadn’t been taken under by the large tidal wave of *ahem* Christmas cheer…..

You know – being cut off in the parking lot, or say in the Costco check out… by TWO separate people!  *grrrr*  The loveliness of realizing you bought the same gift, twice, at two different stores!  Or the fact that your insurance is due this month for the whole 6 months (that includes the teenage driver)?  Yeah, lovely.

Oh – did I mention that we also got our quote for braces for 2 of the boys this month?  That’s AFTER their oral surgery to prep them for the braces!  OY!

I’m starting to feel a little “Scrooginess” coming on…. when really I’m lucky enough to be warm, dry and fed, the hubby’s relatively safe and we can actually afford a few Christmas presents for our four healthy, albeit mentally unstable boys.  We may not be getting a lot this year, but we’ve been fortunate enough that we can buy a few things for them and still eat – rice.

That being said, I’ve been eyeing giving tree’s that I’ve seen around the community.  Could buying ONE more gift for someone really break our bank?  Especially if we give up one of ours for theirs?

 

I might have too….

 

Now, onto the craziness – I was asked if I could help out with the church’s Nativity play on costumes – YAY, I love costumes! 

Thus far I’ve gotten the stars cut out and prepped to be painted all glittery – YAY GLITTER!

 

 

 

Do you think the kiddo’s will mind picking the cat fur off?

 

As for the animals, I was a smart woman and bought some cute little cheezy animal costumes over at OTC

Someone was good enough to donate angel wings and halo’s for us making my job MUCH easier – I have yet to master the wings?  But oh-so would love too!

And the lovely people at Burger King were nice enough to donate several crowns for the wisemen – Thank You BK!  To which I’ll be applying ample glitter of course – no such thing as too much glitter!

The robes I was given were pretty good, in their time I’m assuming.  But since then, have taken on a church attic smell and a few holes, not to mention there are 20 kids in the play and 7 costumes!  So I’m surprising the director with all new costumes – not fancy, but new!  (It’s a church, they’ve got a budget, I’m going for bargains here) I’ll be heading down to the fabric store this Sunday – 20% off total purchase coupon in hand, to pick up “some” (about 112 yards of) fabric for 20 costumes… by the 23rd!  Pray for me people – this may not be pretty! 

I fear for my children’s lives if they happen to need help with their schoolwork while I’m neck-deep in a pile of nativity.

(Now, just in case my dear hubby is reading this from way out in the middle of the deep blue sea – unclench the butt cheeks, I’m being reimbursed by the church)

This should make Christmas get here in no time flat!

 

~ I’d like to also mention ~  

 

*The hubby’s boxes arrived this week* with our christmas gifts from far off places – including of all things – frankincense, myrrh and by the looks of a small white box – gold.  *grin*  

Between those boxes beside me, a few perfect Christmas movies, great music and four giggling, not so little boys in the background while I’m cutting, sewing and glittering – I should be able to remember the *real* reason for this season isn’t what I can put under the tree, but what’s already around me.

If I don’t see you all before the big day,  Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!  I hope you all have the day you were hoping for.

 

Oh and don’t let the holidays get in the way of those all important naps!

 

 

2 Responses to “On the run”

  1. sewfordough Says:

    OMG, lady, you sure know how to write! I’ll pick myself off the floor in a few minutes and get back to work. Thanks for always making my day!
    Merry Christmas to you and yours. 🙂


Any thoughts?